Jim Thomas Memorial Trophy


The Jim Thomson Memorial Trophy is awarded to the shore-based engineering student at the NAFC Marine Centre who has best displayed the qualities that the late NAFC engineering lecturer Jim Thomas treasured and promoted in his students.

The prize is sponsored by the NAFC Marine Centre in memory of the late Jim Thomas, who formally taught engineering at the Centre.


Prize Winner

2018/19 - Aidan Hunter (right), with Willie Shannon (NAFC)


Photo of Prize Winner

2017/18 - Laurence Shearer (Malakoff Ltd) (left), with Callum Smedley (NAFC).


Photo of Prize Winner

2016/17 - jointly awarded to: Jack Smith (Johnson Marine Ltd) (left) and Ross Coutts (HNP Engineers Ltd) (right).


Jim Thomas Memorial prizewinner, Jim Thomson 2016

2015/16 - Stuart Smith


Jim Thomas memorial prizewinner: 2014/15 - Magnus Gilfillan - HNP Engineers Ltd

2014/15 - Magnus Gilfillan - HNP Engineers Ltd.


  • 2014 - Alexander Nunn-Thompson
  • 2013 - David Sandison
  • 2012 - Magnus Scott
  • 2011 - Abigail Barlow